< Turn Page >
Johnson School Highlights 2009-2010
Student Achievements
Albert Fried, Jr. Fellows
The Albert Fried, Jr. Fellowships are awarded to second-year students each year solely on the basis of academic achievement and leadership demonstrated in the first year. The class of 2010 scholars are, from left: Piyush Tiwari, Karan Sarin, Adam Beane, William Brassel, and Michael Anderson. The Fried Fellowships, one of our most prestigious awards, were established in 1989 by a generous endowment gift from distinguished Cornell alumnus, Albert Fried, Jr., MBA '53. The fellowships, which include a stipend, require recipients to work with a faculty or senior staff member on a project of mutual academic or professional interest.

Keith Cowing, MBA '10, won the top prize of $250,00o in the Third Annual Draper Fisher Garretson (DFJ) East Coast Venture Challenge, with his business, Digiceipt, a free, online system for managing receipts and expenses.

W. Chad Carlos, a doctoral student in management and organizations, received a Kauffman Dissertation Fellowship in Entrepreneurship, an award given to only 15 entrepreneurship PhD students nationwide.

Our students took first place among other leading business school teams at the IdeaCorps Challenge in New Orleans. Charged with using their professional skills in short-term, high-impact service roles in the revitalization of New Orleans, the winning team presented a business plan for Schedulist, a workforce-scheduling program.

Our team won the Entrepreneur's Choice award at the Venture Capitalist Investors Competition, the largest competition of its kind in the world.

Park Felows
Each year, up to 25 students receive a full-tuition grant and stipend from the Roy H. Park Leadership Fellows Program. The program serves to attract the highest caliber students to our program, reward outstanding past performance, and develop demonstrated leadership potential.